Choosing to StandStand

Unless I’m reading a book or brainstorming the next big thing, my job as a digital guru/content strategist requires me to stay fairly connected to my laptop.

And then, I come home and blog. I was looking for a solution to keep me from getting sucked into the cozy couch and stay focused on my mind.

When I stumbled upon the local company, StandStand, I knew I had to try it out.

That’s a lot of time spent staring at a screen!

As a busy blogger (Pints, Purls & Paperbacks & RUN NORTH)—and also for my day job, I often find myself needing a change of scenery for inspiration.

I have a more permanent, adjustable option at my office, but I was looking for something that could be used in a variety of environments such as our tiny living room, the coffee shop and when I’m on the road (guest bedrooms and hotels).

I was thrilled to hear the StandStand existed. It was the perfect solution!

For example, this is the view from our living room. (Can you really beat this?)

IMG_8338

Full disclosure: I was able to test drive the StandStand Classic and the StandStand Mouse.

Both of these versions are available in either birch or bamboo and are offered in different sizes to provide the best experience for all heights and laptop sizes.

Things I loved about the Classic StandStand:

  • Portable
  • Lightweight
  • Doesn’t take up much space
  • When folded down, there’s a handle that makes traveling easier

I’ve come to love using my wireless mouse at work, but when I’m traveling to/from the coffee shops (usually by bike or foot), it’s much easier to pack the Classic.

IMG_8379

Things I loved about the Mouse StandStand:

  • Fits my 13″ Macbook and a mouse with a little room to spare
  • A little wider, but perfect for reading, doodling and writing
  • When folded down, there’s a handle that makes traveling easier

However, I should mention that if you’d like a standing option for drawing, writing (the old school way), or reading, the Mouse does offer up more space to do these tasks.

IMG_8345 (1)

At the end of the day, I really loved both versions for different reasons. Each worked well for things I do for my day job and my side blogging gig.

And in addition to the Classic and Mouse, they recently launched a Kickstarter for the StandStand Grand. The Grand instantly transforms any table or desk into a beautiful standing desk that won’t dominate your workspace. Like a work of art, the patent-pending design combines graceful lines with incredible strength. All rewards ship in August 2016!


 

I’d be happy to answer any questions in the comments below about my experience with StandStand.

Leave a Reply

