November is a beautiful time of year. It’s when we no longer have weddings to attend (no offense, friends) and we can start enjoying our weekends in the northland.

Despite my eagerness to relax and unwind from another busy Spring-Summer-Fall, I once again have a handful of goals and passion projects to take on.

In order to keep myself committed and motivated, I decided to breakout November into a few categories in hopes that I can at least achieve one of them.

“No”-vember:

This entails that I’ll say “no” more often than “yes.” It may sound a tad negative, but trust me it’s a good thing. I am the over-achieving, say-yes-to-everything, go-getter of a person, but it doesn’t always end in my favor when I have a to-do list three pages deep with no prioritization.

When I can’t decide which one to go after first, I just throw it out and binge on Netflix. #truestory

Also, I’m going to start saying “no” to the donuts at work, the work lunch outings and happy hours, and the late-night snacking.

Three perks here: saving money, limiting stress and controlling diet. Win-win-win!

Save-ember:

It’s usually this time of year when I think “Oh, s#!t! I need to buy people things.” It’s also when I get all arts and craftsy and think I’ll be able to knit everyone in my family something special. It doesn’t always turn out that way, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

Whether I go the homemade route or not, it’s always a good goal to save. The world needs fewer things and more experiences. I for one would rather travel than collect another pair of shoes. Living more simple and less materialistic will be a lifelong challenge.

Basically, I’ll be selling everything and becoming a hermit.

GO-vember: 

Training for Grandma’s – Garry Bjorklund 1/2 Marathon usually keeps me on track from January-June, and then I forget to exercise until it’s winter and cold and dark—when it’s impossible to be motivated.

Yesterday, I mapped out a game plan that begins today (which might have to be tomorrow). The idea is to run 2-3 times a week and then find a studio, gym or at-home workouts to keep the body moving the rest of the week.

I just learned that my insurance gives a discount if I can commit to checking in at the gym 12 times in one month. Now, that’s a perk! I may have to take up spinning or swimming this winter if Duluth is in for another Polar Vortex. 

Also, I’m hoping to get out for lunch runs or walks on the decent days.

If you’re looking for a way to stay motivated—find a workout buddy and make it a reoccurring date every week. It’s something to look forward to and it’ll be easier to commit if both of you are counting on each other.

Write-vember NaNoWriMo:

Yes, I’m sticking with the novel writing challenge. I have two lovely coworkers also taking a stab at this, so we’ll set up writing lunches at the office to keep each other writing.

Don’t get me wrong, I love writing short-form content, but it’ll be an exciting adventure to work towards a lengthier piece. Wish me luck!

giphy

So, there you have it. The thing I wrote instead of getting a head start on my novel.

The moral of this post is: Pick something and commit. Once it’s done, or built into your schedule like a good habit, find something else to focus on.

Happy November-ing!

Leave a Reply

