My 2017 Reading List

I have accepted Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2017 Reading Challenge! In hopes of achieving it, I’ve put together a post for accountability and motivation.

Please note that this is merely a start and is subject to change. If I’ve learned anything over the past couple years, it is that life gets crazy and we can’t always read everything we intend to.

I’ve also included my book club’s reading list if you’re looking for new ideas to add to your own book club.

2017 Reading Challenge: The categories + intended books

A book chosen for the cover: TBD

A book with a reputation of being un-put-down-able: Before The Fall

A book set somewhere you’d like to visit: The Year of Living Danishly (and/or) Hygge: The Danish Art of Happiness

A book you’ve read before: Hatchet (I’m double dipping this book with another category. This was one of our middle school reads, so I’m hoping to find a new appreciation for it.)

A juicy memoir: The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo

I’ve only read a few memoirs with only one being remarkable. As a fan of Amy Schumer, I’m hoping this one will not disappoint.

A book about books or reading: Bird by Bird (This was recommended by a local author, and as a reader and writer, I feel it’s my duty to add this one to my list.)

A book in a genre you usually avoid: A Gentleman in Moscow (I actually own this book and am quite excited. We put it on our Book Club list, but I’ve never read a Russian book of any kind. I’m hopeful this will change my view on this genre.)

A book you don’t want to admit you’re dying to read: does the entire Harry Potter series count? I’m nearly 27 and I still haven’t read any of them. I’ve watched a few movies, but I decided 2017 would be the year I dive into this series.

A book in the backlist of a new favorite author: Brave Enough (I chose this book because I absolutely loved Wild and I believe this book will not disappoint.)

A book recommended by someone with great taste:  Love Warrior

A book you were excited to buy/borrow, but haven’t read yet: Norse Mythology (My boyfriend and I are hooked on Vikings, aired on the History Channel, and I’ve been meaning to dig into the concept of Norse Mythology. It’s a topic that’s always intrigued me.)

A book about a topic you already love: Anatomy of Yoga and Born to Run (I’m currently working towards my Vinyasa Yoga teacher certification, so the yoga one is a must and we’re registering for our first full marathon and I suppose I should read a motivational runner’s book, right?)

A Newbery Award winner of Honor book: Hatchet (This is where I’m double dipping.)

A book in translation: Beartown (We’re currently listening to A Man Called Ove, and Beartown is written by the same author. Looking forward to it!)

A book that’s more than 600 pages: Outlander is on the list. I’m also working through The Name of the Wind and Game of Thrones series, which all have more than 600 pages per book.

A book of poetry, a play or essay collection: Milk & Honey

A book of any genre that addresses current events: How to be a Woman

An immigrant story: Americanah (Really excited for this one!)

A book published before you were born: My goal is to read more classics. There’s a few already on this list that I can mark for this category, too.

Three books by the same author: I’m choosing Jane Austen for this one. We’re reading Pride and Prejudice for book club and I may as well read a couple more of her classics.

A book by an #ownvoices or #diversebooks author: The Sun is Also a Star

A book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending: Atonement

A book nominated for an award in 2017: TBD

A Pulitzer Prize or National Book Award winner: The Color Purple

 

Wine Not Read Book Club: Our 2017 reading list

  • Today Will Be Different
  • A Gentleman in Moscow
  • All The Missing Girls
  • The Martian Chronicles
  • Pride & Prejudice 
  • The Light Between Oceans

 

I’m hopeful this inspires you to add a few new books to your never-ending list. 

Now, what’s on your list?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on any of the following books, if you plan on reading any of the selected titles, or hear your successes with book club reads. Feel free to leave a comment below! 

Leave a Reply

